Ferrari wins 2016 International Engine of a Year award

Bi-turbo V8 of 488 GTB and Spider models finishes forward of BMW’s 1.5-litre hybrid and Porsche’s 3.0-litre twin-turbo flat-six.

Ferrari’s mint 3.9-litre twin-turbo V8 has scooped a 2016 International Engine of a Year endowment – a initial for Italy’s famous supercar marque.

Announced during an endowment rite hold in Stuttgart, Germany yesterday, a engine – used in a 488 GTB and Spider with 670hp of energy on daub – was credited for progressing a performance, responsiveness and impression enthusiasts have come to design of Ferraris.

Judged by 63 motoring reporters from 31 countries around a universe including Richard Leu, Thailand’s solitary deputy from a Bangkok Post, a outcome continues to infer that a engine-downsizing element – to additionally assistance revoke fuel expenditure and CO2 emissions – is here to stay.

The 488’s turbocharged eight-pot powerplant has been grown to reinstate a 458 predecessor’s 4.5-litre naturally aspirated V8, that has won a Performance Engine sub-category 4 times given 2011.

Confirming this trend is Porsche’s all-new 3.0-litre twin-turbo flat-six, that took third place with 174 points. In second container was final year’s winner, BMW’s 1.5-litre petrol-electric hybrid that amassed 204 points. The Ferrari’s winning total was 340 points.

The 488’s bi-turbo V8 also took tip honours in a New Engine class. In second was Volvo’s 2.0-litre petrol engine with turbocharging, supercharging and foundation technologies as used in a new XC90. Third place went to Porsche’s 3.0-litre flat-six that was designed to reinstate a 3.4- and 3.8-litre non-turbo units of a pre-facelift 911 models.

In a Green Engine category, Tesla’s full electric drivetrain came first, followed by BMW’s 1.5-litre hybrid and Volvo’s tech-laden 2.0-litre four-cylinder.

The Performance Engine pretension went to Ferrari’s 3.9-litre V8 and 6.3-litre naturally aspirated V12, and Porsche’s 4.0-litre non-turbo flat-six, accordingly.

The winners in a other categories were as follows:

below 1.0 litre: Ford 1.0 three-cylinder petrol.

1.0 to 1.4 litres: Peugeot-Citroen 1.2 three-cylinder petrol.

1.4 to 1.8 litres: BMW 1.5 three-cylinder petrol hybrid.

1.8 to 2.0 litres: Mercedes-AMG 2.0 four-cylinder petrol.

2.0 to 2.5 litres: Audi 2.5 five-cylinder petrol.

2.5 to 3.0 litres: Porsche 3.0 six-cylinder petrol.

3.0 to 4.0 litres: Ferrari 3.9 eight-cylinder petrol.

above 4.0 litres: Ferrari 6.3 twelve-cylinder petrol.

Article source:

Leave a Reply